Here are our candidates for the Formartine area.

Turriff & District

Anne Robertson

Anne Robertson, a leading councillor with 15 years experience, has been reselected by the Scottish Liberal Democrats to contest the Turriff and District Ward.

Anne has lived in Fyvie since 1982 and has 3 grown up daughters, a son and a granddaughter. She has played an active role in many aspects of community life including youth work and guides. A former nurse, Anne has worked in both hospital and care home settings, latterly in Turriff.

She was first elected to represent the Upper Ythan ward in 1997 and has been successfully returned following elections in 1999, 2003 and 2007. Anne has held senior positions within the council since 1999 and has been the Leader of Aberdeenshire council for the last 5 years. She has overseen investment in new and existing schools, including Markethill primary, the use of compulsory seat belts on school buses, the transfer of assets to community groups, and has secured an additional one million pounds for road maintenance. Local economic development, tourism, and the enhancement of our towns and villages are also a priority. In addition to her local responsibilities, Anne has represented the council's interests on several national bodies.

Grampian Chamber of Commerce named Anne, Councillor of the year in 2007, at the Northern Star Awards.

Anne regularly attends meetings of community councils, parent councils, amenity committees and is a local voice on the Formartine Area Committee. She is hugely privileged to represent the people of Turriff and District and will continue to work hard to put the needs of the communities first.

Mid Formartine John Loveday

I have lived in the Mid Formartine ward for 35 years and represented our local area since 1999, so I am well aware of the issues and concerns of my community. Married with 3 grown up children, living in Bourtie, between Oldmeldrum and Inverurie. A radio communications engineer by trade, spending many years offshore before switching to a sales role and now running a communications business in Aberdeen. I was first elected in 1999 for the Ward of Oldmeldrum and Daviot, re-elected in 2003 and then into the multimember ward of Mid Formartine in 2007. If re-elected to represent the people of Mid Formartine, my priorities include:
  • continuing to see that Aberdeenshire Council offers the best services for the residents that we can afford
  • maintaining the good financial management we have established over the past 16 years since the Liberal Democrats took control
  • Looking after the residents by representing their views and aspirations

I am proud to have been the chair of the Formartine Area Committee for the past 9 years. As well, I enjoy chairing the Local Review Body, which decides planning appeals across the whole of Aberdeenshire. I have served on the Education Learning and Leisure Committee and the Joint Fire Board for the past 13 years. My attendance record is exemplary. I have gained a very wide range of experience from this work. I bring all my business experience to the Council and to the administration group of the Aberdeenshire Council.

Ellon & District Isobel Davidson

On leaving school in Peterhead, I worked for 10 years in a medical laboratory before completely changing my career to get involved in nature conservation. I studied at college in Dumfries and eventually gained an Honours Degree in Biology from Aberdeen as a mature student. I live just outside Ellon with my 13 year old Foster Daughter 2 dogs and a cat. I have particular interests in wildlife issues, sustainability and education.

I have served as Vice Chair of the Education, Learning and Leisure Committee over the last 5 years. This has been interesting and challenging as we have to implement budget cuts while keeping up the high quality of education and leisure offered in Aberdeenshire.

This website has been built using free publicly available tools and resources. No cost has been incurred to either the public purse or to any of the candidates for election featured on these pages.